Sunday, August 4, 2013

35 area seniors among top in state BY Staff Reports Sunday, February 28, 2010 by TulSa World Newspaper Online

35 area seniors among top in state
BY Staff Reports
Sunday, February 28, 2010
2/28/10 at 9:09 AM

The state's top 100 high school seniors and five public school educators were announced Friday by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence.

The 2010 Academic All-State award winners were selected from 621 applications from 75 different high schools throughout the state, according to the foundation's news release.

David Boren, president of the University of Oklahoman, and chairman and founder of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, said in the release that the Academic All-State program is the state's "most rigorous academic competition."

The winning seniors were nominated by their principals or superintendents and were selected based on their academic achievement, community involvement, extracurricular activities and an essay written by the nominee. 

This year's All-State class had an average ACT score of 33 with six of the students earning a perfect ACT score of 36. Forty-four of the seniors are National Merit semifinalists and one is a National Hispanic Scholar.

Five high schools have their first Academic All-State winner, including Geronimo, Hardesty, Merritt and Seiling high schools and Southeast High School in Oklahoma City.

The Medals of Excellence are given annually to a public school teacher from each of the following levels: elementary, secondary, community college or regional university and research university. A medal also is awarded to an administrator from a elementary or secondary public school.

"We know that education is the best investment Oklahoma can make in its future," Boren said. "By honoring these exceptional educators, we are sending a message that Oklahomans deeply value excellence in public schools and the professionals who have given so much of themselves to enrich the lives of our children." 

Each All-State winner receives a $1,000 scholarship and a medallion, and the Medal of Excellence winners receive a $5,000 cash prize and a glass sculpture. They all will be recognized at an awards banquet on May 22 at the Renaissance Tulsa Hotel. The banquet is open to the public and admission is $50.

The keynote speaker at the ceremony is two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author and historian David McCullough, who wrote "1776" and "John Adams." The awards ceremony also will be televised on OETA Channel 11 at 8 p.m. May 29.

Founded in 1985, the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence is a nonprofit organization that recognizes academic excellence in the state's public schools. Through its Academic Awards program, the foundation has given more than $3.6 million in scholarships and cash awards to Academic All-State and Medal of Excellence winners.

For more information, call the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence at (405) 236-0006 or go to

2010 Area Academic All-State winners

Adair: Chelsey Stricklen

Beggs: Hunter Aldridge

Bristow: Zachary Eldredge

Broken Arrow: Anna Bennett, Jill Graves, Onkur Sen

Claremore: Reagan Gill, Brooke Gunter, Jillian Lundie

Cleveland: Cortlandt Sellers

Fort Gibson: Alexandria Agee

Inola: Ora Douglas Hampshire

Jenks: Taylor Brumble, Lauren Foley, Jessica Jackson, Kevin Thomas

Miami: James Evan Fenska

Muldrow: Bailey Bedford

Owasso: William Baysinger, Jesse Kovacs

Ponca City: Joshua Pauls

Quapaw: Elizabeth St. John

Roland: Jade Edwards

Sand Springs: Megan Crow

Stillwater: Irving Dai (OSSM), Ty Prather, Sheng Wu


Stroud: Eric Gilbert

Talihina: Nicholas Barrs

Tulsa: Shiliang Zhang (OSSM), Richard Chyan, Booker T. Washington, Evan McElwain, Booker T. Washington, Jonathan Martell, Edison Preparatory High School

Vinita: Matthew Butner

Westville: Charlotte Kirk

Medal of Excellence award winners (Adults With Many Years of Working Experiences )

Elementary level: Diane Reece, Bokoshe Elementary School, Bokoshe

Secondary level: Randy M. Baker, Putnam City North High School, Oklahoma City

Regional or community college level: Audrey Schmitz, Northern Oklahoma College, Tonkawa

Research university level: David Sabatini, University of Oklahoma, Norman

Elementary or secondary administration: Terry E. Davidson, superintendent of Comanche Public Schools, Comanche

1 comment: